album of the day: Aimee Mann – @#%&*! Smilers

09Jul08

Song Recommendations: Freeway, 31 Today, Stranger Into Starman, Phoenix, Ballantines

Something about Aimee Mann’s songs that I like. I can’t put my finger on it. Her voice is incredibly calming. I’m honestly not usually a fan of female voices in bands, but hers is so distinct. Songs are good musically and lyrically. I first heard her on the Magnolia Soundtrack, of which I hadn’t seen the movie, but heard about how excellent the album was. The song “Save Me” is probably her most recognized. She’s had like four albums since then, but I kindof forgot about her until I saw this one. So I will have to go back and check out her previous releases and post em here. In the mean time, check out her newest release. A very good album.

Enjoy!

No Responses Yet to “album of the day: Aimee Mann – @#%&*! Smilers”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

