pru-review: Be Kind Rewind

22Jun08

Starring: Jack Black, Mos Def, Danny Glover

Another Jack Black movie you ask? Yes and its not a coincidence. Actually it was. This movie goes along the lines that Semi-Pro went. Be Kind Rewind was one that I was really excited about from the preview and I also it was directed & written by Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Science of Sleep). So again I had high hopes. I had high hopes. I had, high apple pie in the sky hopes. But I didn’t see it in the theaters and I didn’t hear much about it when it came out on tha divid. So I watched it last night. Its basically  about these guy’s that work at Danny Glover’s old video rental store, and when Danny G was gone, Jack Black somehow erased all the tapes (see the movie for an explanation). So Mos Def & Jack Black decide to reshoot their own movies. That’s the basic idea. The first half of the movie you’re not quite sure what was goin on, b/c it seemed a little like the story was not developed enough. Everything was too quick. The movie recreation parts were pretty funny. The funniest part of the movie for me involved a brick and some glass. I’m vague b/c I don’t want to ruin it. But overall I was dissappointed. Again, like Semi-Pro, I thought it was gonna be a classic, but it turned out to be average. Worth a rental, not a purchase.

Overall Rating: 2 Prus

No Responses Yet to “pru-review: Be Kind Rewind”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

